MPC-Only Coin Management
Overview
On a MPC-Only system, coin management works slightly differently from Impenetrable Vault associated Cold-driven or MPC-driven systems. The main difference is that Coins are managed, added and removed, on the MPC machine, normally the Desktop app.
The main activity here is the removal of coins that are in the system. Sometimes this might be for preinstalled Coins, or even some that an admin user added earlier.
All associations between the removed coin and other actions on the system, such as
The coin removal means that all references to the coin don't appear on the system, such as in the Dashboard, wallets, policies, transactions and staking, etc. Any inbound transaction is ignored from this point and onwards.
Similarly, Coins can also be added to the system.
Default Coins in the uMPC-Only system
A new uMPC-Only system starts with only BitCoin and Ethereum preinstalled to ensure a clearer and quicker start up process. A preexisting system that is converted to uMPC-Only has other coins preinstalled.
Other coins can be added later, as described in Add new or removed coins
Although most coins can be removed from the system, BitCoin and Ethereum cannot be removed. Even if the user tries to remove the coin, a warning sign appears to block this option.
Removed Coins and transaction history
Although this process removes coins from your system, the historical transaction data is kept on the sytem and is not erased. This transaction data can only be accessed by exporting the Tranasction history data and choosing the setting to including it in the export, see Export historical transaction data.
Once removed from the system, incoming transactions for these coins is not listed or registered in the transaction history. The system ignores these transactions as though they have not occurred.
Any removed coin is still listed in the Coin Mangement section, but the information there is not updated by the system. This means that price information is out of date.
Before removing a coin
Before removing a coin the user must check that the coin is not required, for example, it is used in an ongoing transaction or for staking. As long as any of the following criteria are met the coin cannot be removed:
- A transaction is not Confirmed
- A staking operation is active
- Dependant tokens exist on the system
- A Smart Contract restraint exists for this coin
Any tokens associated with a native coin must be removed before the native coin can be removed.
If any of these apply, then either the user must wait until the transaction or process is completed or make the neccesary changes to the system, such as deleting the associated tokens.
Addresses associated with the coin will also be deleted and cannot be restored. Before deleting a coin a confirmation warning tells the user that the addresses will be lost.
Removing Coins
In a MPC-only system, coins can be removed from the system so that the admin user has a way to control coin management. Removing coins that are not used in the system improves performance and the user experience by reducing unwanted coins listed on the screen.
To remove a coin:
Go to Admin panel > Coin Management, the Remove coins button is in the upper-right corner next to Add coins.

Select Remove coins. The Remove coins window opens listing all of the coins that can be removed. Use the filter or search options to locate the coin or coins to be removed.
Select the checkbox next to each coin you want to remove.

Select Remove coins to open the Review screen.
The Review screen lists any contacts or policies associated with each coin. This allows you to review the effects of removing the coin from the system.
To keep a coin, uncheck the box.

After review, select Remove coins to complete the process.
What happens after a coin is removed
After a coin is removed:
- The coin no longer appears in the Dashboard, Wallets, Policy Management, Transaction flows, Staking, Smart Contracts, NFTs, or coin selectors.
- The coin remains visible in Coin Management.
- The coin is no longer updated by the system.
- New inbound transactions for the removed coin are ignored.
- Historical transaction data remains stored and can be exported.
- Associated addresses are deleted and cannot be restored.
Add new or previously removed Coins
A new coin is added in the same way as described in MPC Coin Management depending on the type of coin or token, EVM, ERC-20 or TRC-20.
A previously removed coin can be added again in Coin Management. After the coin is added, it is available again in the relevant areas of the system, such as Wallets, Dashboard, Transaction flows, Policy Management, Staking, Smart Contracts, and NFTs. All of the previous transactions are again listed in the Transaction history page.
The general flow is as follows:
On the MPC, navigate to Admin Panel > Coin management. Click the
button.
The Add a new coin dialog opens.

In the Coin type drop down list, select the coin or token type.
In the Network drop down list, select a coin.

The Value in Fiat field automatically fills in.
Set the relevant fields as appropriate for the coin or token. This could include selecting a Typical transaction type, entering the Node URL, and settings Gas Limit and Max fees, etc.

Select Add to complete the process.
The coin or token appears in the Coin Management screen and is added to all relevant parts of the system, including Transaction history, Wallets, the Dashboard, POlicy management, Staking, Smart contracts and NFTs.
Export historical transaction data for removed coins
After a coin is removed from the system the transactions are no longer displayed in the Transaction history. However, the data remains stored on the system and the admin user can export it for administrative needs.
The export process is the same as a normal transaction history export with an added stage to request transaction data for the removed coins.
The data stored retains the historical fiat prices and fees when the transactions were made, because once the coin is removed from the system fiat prices for the coin are not updated.
To export transaction history for removed coins:
In the Transaction history page, select the download button.

The Include removed currency box opens. To include the removed currencies or token, select the checkbox.

Select Continue. A Save file window opens, choose the location on your system and save the file.